Male Role Models

In an effort to keep America educated, I dedicate my life to teaching middle school students Mathematics. This year I have the privilege to teach 7th grade, which are 13 year olds basically. I like to say that I am selling a product that few of my clients want to buy.
Today I was reminded of the lack of positive male role models that we have in America. When a child doesn’t have an adult male in his life to look up to or influence him in a positive way, then my job in the classroom becomes more difficult. Where have all the good men gone to? Why does this hold have no one he admires or aspires to be like? He feels he is the man of the house, yet he has not seen or experienced what the man of the house is or does. This is a sad state of affairs America.

Leave a Reply

